John 3:16 What does it mean to you?

“For God so [greatly] loved and dearly prized the world, that He [even] gave His [One and] only begotten Son, so that who-ever believes and trusts in Him [as Savior] shall not perish, but have eternal life. John 3:16 AMP

God loved the people in the world so much that he gave his one and only Son on their behalf. So, as a result, everyone who believes in the Son will not die. Instead, they will live for ever with God.’ John 3:16 Easy

Yes, God loved the world so much that he gave his only Son, so that everyone who believes in him would not be lost but have eternal life. John 3:16 ERV

For God so loved the world, that he gave he only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him shold not perish, but have everlasting life. John 3:16 KJV

“For God loved the world so much that he gave his one and only Son, so that everyone who believes in him will not perish but have eternal life. John 3:16 NLT

Only begotten comes from the Greek word monogenēs, μονογενής which means single of its kind. This means Jesus is the one and only of his kind. That is why he is king, because he completed what was necessary to be done to save the whole world. And there is non other like him. God has many sons and daughters but no other like Jesus.

No matter how many different ways this can be translated, for me, it’s life giving words. It is God personally telling me that he chose to save me through his one and only unique son Jesus. I accept this with a humble heart because my creator done this for me. I’m just one person out of billions, but he did it for me, you, and anyone that is willing to accept the truth.

“Thank you Jesus for doing what had to be done that no one else could to save me”

Let me know your thoughts on John 3:16 and what it means to you personally in the comments below.

6 thoughts on “John 3:16 What does it mean to you?

  1. I love the comparison of Bible versions. The Greek adds dimension and helps me understand the depth of what the author is conveying. The separate boxes containing a paragraph each makes for quicker reading and I can find my place for reference easier. Great job, Matt! So proud of you.

    Like

  2. John 3:16 takes me to my salvation experience. I was 14 years old, in 8th grade. A friend was supposed to bring some prescription drugs to school Monday, but God so loved a little poor, 14 year old simple country girl with a houseful of brothers, so much that He stepped in and changed the plan Satan had plotted. I was forever changed when I allowed Jesus to take my sins away! I felt so light and free! I may have started a life of drug addiction and pain the next day if my dear Savior hadn’t written a new song for me to sing!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.